Utility Menu

Concert for the “Common Man”

Buy Hemmens Tickets

May 4, 2019 at 7:30 pm
May 5, 2019 at 2:30 pm
Hemmens Cultural Center

Andrew Grams, conductor
Elgin Symphony Orchestra

Mahler      Adagio from Symphony No. 10
Copland    Symphony No. 3

Adult Price: $30/$55/$75
Youth Price: $10
*Discount Pricing available for Groups of 10 or more!  Click here for details.
**2019-20 SERIES ON SALE NOW**Build Your Own Series and save 10% or 20% off the single ticket price by purchasing 3 or more Classics concerts or Special Events!

NOTEworthy Concert Facts

Gustav Mahler only completed the first movement, Adagio, from his Symphony No. 10.  Only outlines remained of the other movements, which were completed after his death. Mahler wrote the anguished and dissonant Adagio when his life was in disarray. He was depressed, critically ill and his wife Alma was having an affair. His anguish overflowed to paper as he transcribed the composition. “To live for you, To die for you” was scrawled on the final page.

Composer Aaron Copland, born in Brooklyn, New York, is known for unique harmonies that created a quintessential American sound and evoke the vast American landscape.  Having written music for ballets like Billy the Kid and Rodeo, his Symphony No. 3 combines his distinct Americana sound with the symphonic form.  The 4th movement includes the theme from a prior work, Fanfare for the Common Man, which has become a patriotic standard.

Click on the picture for an audio concert highlight


Buy Hemmens Tickets