Utility Menu

Magnificent Mozart

Buy Schaumburg TicketsBuy Hemmens Tickets

The ESO’s Magnificent Mozart gives the audience a glimpse into the brilliance that was Johannes Chrysostomus Wolfgangus Theophilus Mozart. From an intimate piece that Mozart saved for himself and a small circle of music enthusiasts to his Symphony No. 40 with one of the most recognizable opening melodies, this performance will demonstrate true genius. In fact, we have a bit of genius of our own – Andrew Grams will lead the orchestra from the concertmaster chair and pianist William Wolfram will join the ESO for this celebration of Mozart.


January 10 at 7:30 pm
Prairie Center for the Arts – Schaumburg, IL

January 11 at 7:30 pm
January 12 at 2:30 pm
Hemmens Cultural Center – Elgin, IL


Andrew Grams, conductor/violin
William Wolfram, piano

Respighi     Ancient Airs & Dances, Suite No. 1
Mozart     Piano Concerto No. 23
Mozart     Symphony No. 40

Prairie Center Prices: Red $65 / Green $35 – CLICK HERE to view the Prairie Center Seat Map
Hemmens Prices: Gold $85 / Red $65 / Green $35 – CLICK HERE to view the Hemmens Classics Series Seat Map
*Discount Pricing available for Groups of 10 or more! CLICK HERE for details.


Build Your Own Series and save 10% or 20% off the single ticket price by purchasing 3 or more Classics concerts or Special Events!

NOTEworthy Concert Facts

  • Mozart’s last three symphonies come from the extraordinarily creative summer of 1788. In the space of slightly over six weeks, he composed three symphonies, one of which being Symphony No. 40. It had an incredible influence on many famous composers including Ludwig van Beethoven, who copied out 29 bars from the score in one of his sketchbooks. The copied bars appear amid the sketches for Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony, whose third movement begins with a pitch sequence similar to that of Mozart’s finale.
  • Symphony No. 40 was completed three years before Mozart’s death in 1791. Writers on Mozart have often suggested – or even asserted – that Mozart never heard his 40th Symphony performed. Some commentators go further, suggesting that Mozart wrote the symphony (and its companions, Nos. 39 and 41) without even intending it to be performed, but rather for posterity, as an “appeal to eternity”. However, this claim is widely disputed.

Click the picture for an audio concert highlight

Magnificent Mozart

Magnificent Mozart

…Mozart – Piano Concerto No. 23

Buy Schaumburg TicketsBuy Hemmens Tickets